Penalties for DUI

drivers license restrictions & reinstatement requirements

San Diego, California DMV Penalty Chart Vehicle Code Section 23152
san diego dui first offense within 10 years
minimum/maximum sentencing guidelines
with probation without probation at discretion
- drug & alcohol program
– $390 to $1,000 fine
– additional monetary penalties
– 48 hrs to 6 months incarceration
– 6 months license suspension
- $390 to $1,000 fine
– 96 hrs to 6 months incarceration
– 6 months license suspension
- vehicle impoundment
– ignition interlock device
– community service
– madd victim impact panel

 

san diego dui second offense within 10 years
minimum/maximum sentencing guidelines
with probation without probation at discretion
- 18-30 months alcohol treatment
– $390 to $1,000 fine
– additional monetary penalties
– 96 hrs to 1 year incarceration
– 2 years license suspension
– ignition interlock device
- $390 to $1,000 fine
– additional monetary penalties
– 90 days to 1 yr incarceration
– 2 years license suspension
– ignition interlock device
- vehicle impoundment
– community service
– madd victim impact panel

 

san diego dui third offense within 10 years
minimum/maximum sentencing guidelines
with probation without probation at discretion
- $390 to $1,000 fine
– additional monetary penalties
– 4 months to 1 year incarceration
– 3 years license revocation
– 18 month alcohol program
- $390 to $1,000 fine
– additional monetary penalties
– 4 months to 1 year incarceration
– 3 years license revocation
- vehicle impoundment
– community service
– madd victim impact panel

 

san diego dui fourth or subsequent offense within 10 years
minimum/maximum sentencing guidelines
with probation without probation at discretion
- $390 to $1,000 fine
– additional monetary penalties
– 4 months to 1 year incarceration
– 4 years license revocation
– 18 month alcohol program
- $390 to $1,000 fine
– additional monetary penalties
– 6 months to 1 year in jail or
16 to 36 months in prison
– 4 years license revocation
- vehicle impoundment
– community service
– madd victim impact panel

PLEASE NOTE: The above charts reflect punishment for standard driving under the influence violations with no penalty enhancements or aggravating factors such as accidents, reckless driving, minor passengers, bodily injury to another, safety zone or construction zone violations, prior felonies, etc. Please click the following link for more information on California DUI Penalty Enhancements.